Manif d’art 6, the Quebec City biennial, is ready to go. Based on the theme of Machines – The Shapes of Movement, this major event is curated by Nicole Gingras. The Avant-Première, as well as the openings of the official selections, will take place from May 2 to 5. The public is cordially invited to attend these unveilings at the 14 sites in Quebec City and Lévis. 

The Avant-première of Manif d’art 6—the VIP cultural event of the summer—will take place at Espace 400e Bell on Wednesday, May 2 from 5:00 to 8:30 p.m. At a cost of $50, visitors will be able to view the works at the biennial’s main site prior to the official opening. Guided tours in small groups have been scheduled. A reception, including wine and appetizers, will also be held. 

On Thursday, May 3, the public is invited to the opening of Diane Landry’s Correspondances at the Musée de l’Amérique française. This installation features a wide range of machines, inventions and sculptures created by the artist from 1996 to 2012. 

Next up, at 8:30 p.m., visitors are invited to the opening of the main exhibition at Espace 400e Bell. This large-scale event brings together the works of 16 artists, including Yann Farley, Mounir Fatmi, Louise Faure & Anne Julien, Arthur Ganson, Rube Goldberg, Brion Gysin & Ian Sommerville, Joseph Herscher, Marla Hlady, Manon Labrecque, Diane Obomsawin, Stansfield/Hooykaas, Martin Tétreault and Karel Zeman. The evening will also feature two performances by Martin Tétreault, at 9 p.m. and 10 p.m. and the party of the Manif d’art 6 will begin at 11:30 p.m

On Friday, May 4, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (MNBAQ) will launch François Mathieu’s De l’air et du plomb. With this sculptural installation presented in the rotunda of the MNBAQ, François Mathieu is continuing his explorations of flight, presenting a kind of travel machine. At 6 p.m. American artist Mark Pauline will give a lecture in the MNBAQ auditorium.
Reservations can be made at info@premiereovation.com

The opening of Jacques Samson’s exhibition at the Grand Théâtre de Québec will take place at 9 p.m. This site-specific, two-part kinetic installation entitled Excroissances will be visible from outside the building, on rue Turnbull. At the gallery of the Grand Théâtre de Québec, Jacques Samson will also exhibit a series of preliminary sketches for this installation. 

On Saturday, May 5, the final day of openings, visitors will be able to discover the following exhibitions: at 1 p.m., Regart is presenting Adaptative Actions by Erika Lincoln; at 3 p.m., LA CHAMBRE BLANCHE is presenting GAMMAvert – an X-SEA-SCAPE by Jan-Peter E.R. Sonntag; at 4 p.m., the Galerie des arts visuels is presenting Hypoxia by Jean-Pierre Gauthier; at 5 p.m., MATERIA is presenting Bestiary by Ingrid Bachmann; at 6 p.m., Le Lieu is presenting Rotation sous différents angles by Kanta Horio.

At 7 p.m., five organizations from the Coopérative Méduse will launch their respective exhibitions: Diane Morin at Avatar; Marla Hlady and Jean Tinguely at Engramme; Minibloc and Mounir Fatmi at L’Œil de Poisson; Jean-François Dugas, Jérôme Minière and Marie-Pierre Normand at La Bande Vidéo; and Manon Labrecque at VU PHOTO. 

Manif d’Art Pass

A pass is required to attend the activities of the biennial and to visit the official-selection exhibition sites. It comes with a badge and official program, a pocket-size guide containing all the details on the exhibition sites, artists and scheduled activities.

Admission

General: $12
Student (student card mandatory): $10
Children under 12 (accompanied by an adult): free
Package deal : (2 badges and one program): $18

The pass is available beginning May 3 at all official-selection exhibition sites, as well as at the Gabrielle-Roy Library, the Huron-Wendat Museum, Best Western Québec, Galerie Tzara and Formats, the RCAAQ bookshop in Montréal.  The Manif d’art biennial festival is one of the largest in Canada. The complete program can be found on the mobile app for iPhone and Android smartphones, as well as on the website http://www.manifdart.org/manif6/.

From May 3 to June 3, 2012, the Manif d’art 6 invites visitors to embark on an artistic tour and participate in activities on the theme of Machines – The Shapes of Movement, chosen by curator Nicole Gingras. In adding satellite activities to the official selection, the Québec City biennial brings together over 80 artists in 30 venues in Québec City and surrounding areas.


Information
: Patrick Fournier
Communications Coordinator
Manif d’art
(418) 524-1917 / communication@manifdart.org

La Manif d’art 6 donne le coup d’envoi de la biennale de Québec. Ayant pour thème Machines – Les formes du mouvement, l’événement est sous le commissariat de Nicole Gingras. Du 2 au 5 mai se tiendront l’Avant-première ainsi que les vernissages de la sélection officielle. Le public est chaleureusement invité à participer à ce grand dévoilement dans 14 lieux de Québec et Lévis.?

L’Avant-première de la Manif d’art 6, l’événement VIP culturel de l’été, a lieu le mercredi 2 mai de 17 h à 20 h 30 à l’Espace 400e Bell. Au coût de 50 $, profitez en primeur du dévoilement du lieu central de la biennale. Des visites guidées en petits groupes seront offertes pour découvrir les expositions avant l’ouverture officielle. Lors de la soirée, un vin d’honneur et des bouchées gourmandes seront également servis. ?

Le jeudi 3 mai, le grand public est invité au vernissage de l’exposition de Diane Landry au Musée de l’Amérique française. En parcourant Correspondances, le visiteur sera entraîné dans un espace habité par différentes machines et inventions mises en relation avec des sculptures et des installations de Diane Landry, réalisées entre 1996 et 2012. ??

Par la suite, à 20 h 30, les visiteurs sont conviés au vernissage de l’exposition centrale à l’Espace 400e Bell. Cette exposition d’envergure regroupe les œuvres de 16 artistes, soit Yann Farley, Mounir Fatmi, Louise Faure et Anne Julien, Arthur Ganson, Rube Goldberg, Brion Gysin et Ian Sommerville, Joseph Herscher, Marla Hlady, Manon Labrecque, Diane Obomsawin, Stansfield/Hooykaas, Martin Tétreault et Karel Zeman. L’artiste Martin Tétreault offrira une performance à 21 h et à 22 h et le party Manif d’art 6 débutera à 23 h 30.

Le vendredi 4 mai, le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (MNBAQ) lance l’exposition de François Mathieu. Avec De l’air et du plomb, nouvelle installation sculpturale présentée dans la rotonde du MNBAQ, François Mathieu poursuit sa quête de l’envol et propose une machine faite pour voyager. À 18 h, une conférence de l’artiste américain Mark Pauline sera donnée dans l’auditorium du MNBAQ. Veuillez réserver votre place à info@premiereovation.com.

À 21 h suivra le vernissage de l’exposition de Jacques Samson au Grand Théâtre de Québec. Créée spécifiquement pour ce lieu, Excroissances, une installation cinétique en deux parties, sera visible de l’extérieur du bâtiment par la rue Turnbull. Jacques Samson expose également à la galerie du Grand Théâtre de Québec une série d’esquisses préparatoires à l’installation Excroissances.

Le samedi 5 mai, dernière journée de vernissages, les visiteurs sont conviés à découvrir les expositions suivantes : à 13 h, Regart présente Adaptative Actions d’Erika Lincoln; à 15 h, LA CHAMBRE BLANCHE présente GAMMAvert – a X-SEA-SCAPES de Jan-Peter E.R. Sonntag; à 16 h, la Galerie des arts visuels présente Hypoxia de Jean-Pierre Gauthier; à 17 h, MATERIA présente Bestiaire d’Ingrid Bachmann; à 18 h, Le Lieu présente Rotation sous différents angles de Kanta Horio.

À 19 h, cinq organismes de la Coopérative Méduse lancent également leurs expositions respectives : Diane Morin chez Avatar; Marla Hlady et Jean Tinguely chez Engramme; Minibloc et Mounir Fatmi à L’Œil de Poisson; Jean-François Dugas, Jérôme Minière et Marie-Pierre Normand à La Bande Vidéo et Manon Labrecque à VU PHOTO.

Laissez-passer

Le laissez-passer est obligatoire pour participer aux activités de la biennale et pour visiter les lieux d’exposition faisant partie de la sélection officielle. Il est composé d’un macaron et du programme officiel. De format poche, cet outil contient tous les renseignements sur les lieux d’expositions, sur les artistes et sur les activités présentées.

Coût

Général : 12 $
Étudiant (carte étudiante obligatoire) : 10 $
Moins de 12 ans (accompagné d’un adulte) : gratuit
Forfait pour deux : 18 $ (2 macarons et un programme)

Le laissez-passer sera en vente dès le 3 mai dans tous les lieux d’exposition de la sélection officielle ainsi qu’à la bibliothèque Gabrielle-Roy, à la Galerie Tzara, au Musée huron-wendat, au Best Western de Québec et à la librairie Formats du RCAAQ à Montréal. La programmation complète se trouve sur l’application mobile disponible pour téléphones iPhone et Android ainsi que sur le site web http://www.manifdart.org/manif6/.

Du 3 mai au 3 juin, les visiteurs seront invités à suivre le parcours artistique et à participer aux nombreuses activités qui évoluent autour du thème Machines – Les formes du mouvement. En ajoutant les activités satellites à la sélection officielle, la biennale de Québec rassemble cette année plus de 80 artistes répartis dans près de 30 lieux de Québec, Lévis et Wendake.

 

Information: Patrick Fournier
Coordonnateur aux communications
Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec
418 524-1917
communication@manifdart.org