Quebec City, Wednesday May 23 2012 – During the penultimate week of Manif d’art 6, a variety of activities are proposed in various locations. Workshops, a release, film screenings and an artistic intervention are a few examples of what the program of the Québec City biennial has to offer.


COLLECTIVE CONSTRUCTION OF AN UNUSUAL MACHINE

Some places are still available for two creation workshops under the direction of American artist Joseph Herscher, offered on May 26 and 27. Participants are invited to collaborate in the creation of a large-scale machine that will be come to life through a series of chain reactions triggered by mechanical inventions created during the workshop. Participants are asked to bring with them a personal object that will be returned to them after the workshop.

May 26 and 27 from 1 to 5 p.m.
Espace 400e Bell – Free – For all ages – Limited participation – Registration required
reservation@manifdart.org

http://www.josephherscher.com/

The Page Turner – Joseph Herscher


SCREENINGS PRESENTED BY ANTITUBE

Antitube, in collaboration with Manif d’art 6, presents two film programs at the Musée de la civilisation Auditorium on the evenings of May 24 and 27. We invite the public to be acquainted with the cinematographical work of two pioneers of experimental cinema, presented in Quebec City for the first time.


“Surround Super 8” According to John Porter
May 24 at 7:30 p.m. / Auditorium of the Musée de la civilisation
Programmation under the direction of Nicole Gingras


The Strange Machine-Movies of Larry Jordan
May 27 at 7:30 / Auditorium of the Musée de la civilisation
Programmation under the direction of Guillaume Lafleur

Admission 7$ / 5$ on presentation of the pass

www.antitube.ca


RELEASE OF THE COOKE-SASSEVILLE MONOGRAPHY

Known for its disconcerting and controversial works, the Cooke-Sasseville duo (Jean-François Cooke and Pierre Sasseville) is the subject of a monography entitled De Cooke-Sasseville à aujourd’hui (From Cooke-Sasseville to today), which presents a decade of works in contemporary art. Presented within the framework of Manif d’art 6, the release of the document will take place in the presence of the artists. The duo will also unveil a new work at the time of the event.

Under the directorship of Anne-Marie Bouchard, the monography De Cooke-Sasseville à aujourd’hui is published by Art Mûr, in collaboration with the Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, Première Ovation and Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec. The texts were written by Anne-Marie Bouchard and Michael Rattray.

Friday May 25 from 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Espace 400e Bell – Free admission


OTHER ACTIVITIES
Among the other proposed activities, the artist Ingrid Bachmann offers a master class at MATERIA on Wednesday May 23 at 5:00 pm. For its part, Folie/Culture proposes Le carrefour dément (The crazy crossroad), an artistic intervention which will take place at the corner of Dorchester and Saint-Joseph East streets on Friday May 25 2012 as of 4:30 pm. Like every Saturday, CKRL will also be present on May 26 from 11:00 am to 1:00 pm at the Espace 400e Bell for the broadcast of the Manif d’art en direct program.

The complete program of satellite activities can be found on the mobile application available for iPhone and Android, as well as on the event’s website at www.manifdart.org/manif6/en/. 

- 30 - 

Information : Patrick Fournier, Communications Coordinator, Manif d’art, 418 524-1917, communication@manifdart.org

Québec, le mercredi 23 mai 2012 – Pour l’avant-dernière semaine de la Manif d’art 6, une variété d’activités sont offertes dans différents lieux. Des ateliers, un lancement, des projections de films et une intervention artistique sont quelques exemples des propositions au programme de la biennale de Québec.


CONSTRUCTION COLLECTIVE D’UNE MACHINE INSOLITE

Des places sont encore disponibles pour les ateliers offerts les 26 et 27 mai avec l’artiste américain Joseph Herscher. Au cours de cet atelier, les participants sont conviés à collaborer à une grande machine qui s’élaborera et s’animera à partir d’une succession de réactions en chaîne, inventions mécaniques que chacun créera dans le cadre de cet atelier. Tous sont invités à apporter un objet personnel qui leur sera rendu après l’atelier.

Les 26 et 27 mai de 13 h à 17 h
Espace 400e Bell – Gratuit – Pour tout âge – Inscription obligatoire – Places limitées, inscrivez-vous rapidement!
reservation@manifdart.org

http://www.josephherscher.com/

 

The Page Turner – Joseph Herscher

 

PROJECTIONS PRÉSENTÉES PAR ANTITUBE

Antitube, en collaboration avec Manif d’art 6, présente deux programmes de cinéma à l’Auditorium du Musée de la civilisation les 24 et 27 mai en soirée. Le public est convié à se familiariser avec l’œuvre cinématographique de deux pionniers du cinéma expérimental, présentée à Québec pour la première fois.

Le Super 8 en « surround » selon John Porter 

Le jeudi 24 mai à 19 h 30 à l’Auditorium du Musée de la civilisation
Programmation sous la direction de Nicole Gingras

Les étranges films-machines de Larry Jordan

Le dimanche 27 mai à 19 h 30 à l’Auditorium du Musée de la civilisation
Programmation sous la direction de Guillaume Lafleur

Prix d’entrée 7$ / 5$ sur présentation du laissez-passer

http://www.antitube.ca

 

LANCEMENT DE LA MONOGRAPHIE DE COOKE-SASSEVILLE

Reconnu pour ses œuvres déconcertantes et polémiques, le duo Cooke-Sasseville (Jean-François Cooke et Pierre Sasseville) est le sujet d’une monographie intitulée De Cooke-Sasseville à aujourd’hui, présentant une décennie de réalisations en art actuel. Présenté dans le cadre de Manif d’art 6, le lancement de l’ouvrage aura lieu en présence des artistes. Le duo dévoilera également une nouvelle œuvre lors de l’événement.

Sous la direction d’Anne-Marie Bouchard, la monographie De Cooke-Sasseville à aujourd’hui est éditée par Art Mûr, en collaboration avec le Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, Première Ovation et Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec. Les textes sont signés Anne-Marie Bouchard et Michael Rattray. 

Le vendredi 25 mai de 17h à 19h
Espace 400e Bell – Gratuit


AUTRES ACTIVITÉS

Parmi les autres activités proposées, l’artiste Ingrid Bachmann offre une classe de maître chez MATERIA le mercredi 23 mai à 17 h. Pour sa part, Folie/Culture propose Le carrefour dément, une intervention artistique qui aura lieu à l’intersection des rues Dorchester et Saint-Joseph Est le vendredi 25 mai dès 16 h 30. Comme tous les samedis, CKRL sera également présent le 26 mai de 11 h à 13 h à l’Espace 400e Bell pour la diffusion de l’émission La Manif d’art en direct.

La programmation complète se trouve sur l’application mobile disponible pour iPhone et Android ainsi que sur le site Web de l’événement au www.manifdart.org/manif6

- 30 - 

Information : Patrick Fournier, Coordonnateur aux communications, Manif d’art, 418 524-1917, communication@manifdart.org