Main site
Brion Gysin and Ian Sommerville

Brion Gysin and Ian Sommerville

Brion Gysin et Ian Sommerville Great Britain / Canada Great BritainBrion Gysin was a painter, writer, sound poet and performance artist born in England and raised in Edmonton (Canada). One of the most important artists of the twentieth century, he is perhaps best known for his “discovery” or “re-discovery” of the cut-up technique, developed by his friend, the novelist William S. Burroughs. Gysin travelled widely, living in Vancouver, Tangier, New...
Yann Farley

Yann Farley

Yann Farley  Sainte-Justine, Canada  Multidisciplinary artist Yann Farley made his mark in the art world more than 15 years ago. His work has been shown in numerous solo and group exhibitions in Québec, including the Musée d’art contemporain des Laurentides, the Maison de la culture Pointe-aux-Trembles, Galerie Horace (Sherbrooke), Musée Marius-Barbeau (Saint-Joseph-de-Beauce), the Centre national d’exposition de Jonquière, Atelier Silex (Trois-Rivières), the Centre d’art Moulin La Lorraine (Lac-Etchemin) and Art-Image...
Mounir Fatmi

Mounir Fatmi

Mounir FatmiTangier, Morocco / Paris, France Mounir Fatmi works and lives in both Tangier, his birthplace, and Paris. He has shown in several museums, including the Migros Museum (Zurich), Museum Kunst Palast (Dusseldorf), Centre Georges Pompidou (Paris), Moderna Museet (Stockholm), Mori Art Museum (Tokyo) and Tate Modern (London). He has participated in several biennials, including those of Venice (2011 and 2007), Lyon (2009), Sharjah (2007), Seville and Dakar (both in 2006)...
Arthur Ganson

Arthur Ganson

Arthur Ganson Stoneham, États-Unis Arthur Ganson began making kinetic sculpture in 1977. Since receiving a BFA degree at the University of New Hampshire in 1978 his work has been shown in numerous galleries and museums in both the United States and Europe. He has held residencies at a number of institutions including the Exploratorium in San Francisco and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge, where he has maintained an ongoing...
Rube Goldberg

Rube Goldberg

Rube Goldberg  San Francisco/New York, USAReuben Lucius Goldberg (Rube Goldberg) was born in San Francisco in 1883 and died in 1970 in New York. A founding member of the National Cartoonists Society, a political cartoonist and a Pulitzer Prize winner, Rube Goldberg is best known for his “inventions.”, Rube’s early years as an engineer informed his most acclaimed work. A Rube Goldberg contraption – an elaborate set of arms, wheels,...
Louise Faure and Anne Julien

Louise Faure and Anne Julien

Louise Faure and Anne Julien Paris, France After studying literature, philosophy and film, Louise Faure began writing documentaries in 1990.  Anne Julien studied commerce and history before turning into film. The two work together regularly. They have directed Jardiniers de l’espace (2001), Les vins de pierre (2002), Le Monstre dans la forêt (2004) and Niki de Saint Phalle et Jean Tinguely – Les Bonnie and Clyde de l’art (2010). Le Monstre dans...
Joseph Herscher

Joseph Herscher

Joseph Herscher Brooklynn, USAJoseph Herscher makes kinetic installations. His videos have been viewed worldwide and have been featured in The New Yorker, The New York Times and numerous television shows. His work has been exhibited at the 2011 Venice Biennale. He has led workshops in Brooklyn, Boston, Venice and New Zealand, and lectured at Parsons New School For Design in New York City. Joseph Herscher’s work reminds us of the...
Marla Hlady

Marla Hlady

Marla Hlady Toronto, Canada Since 1990 Marla Hlady has been exhibiting extensively in Canada, the USA and Europe. Her multidisciplinary practice leads her to explore sound art, kinetic art, drawing and video. Hlady also collaborates with musicians, composers and other artists in the production of audio works, multiples and publications. An important selection of related site works have been collaboratively presented at Oakville Galleries (Canada) in 2011 and at Hallwalls Contemporary...
Manon Labrecque

Manon Labrecque

Manon Labrecque  Montréal, Canada Multidisciplanary artist Manon Labrecque trained in contemporary dance and visual art. She works in video  (single channel and installations), performance, drawing, photography, sculpture and kinetic and sound installations. Her work has been shown in Québec, Germany, Mexico and England. Shown at various festivals in Canada and abroad, her videos have been honoured at the Rendez-vous du cinéma québécois (1998 and 2007). Les antigravitationnels (2012). Installations
Diane Obomsawin

Diane Obomsawin

Diane Obomsawin  Montréal, Canada  Of Abenaki origin, Diane Obomsawin pursued a career as a graphic artist in France for 20 years. Upon returning to Québec in 1983, she directed her attention toward painting, illustration and cartoons, studying film animation at Concordia University. She has made several award-winning films, including Ici par ici, an autobiographical account of her childhood. Since 1997, she has made six films with the National Film Board...
Stansfield/Hooykaas

Stansfield/Hooykaas

Stansfield/Hooykaas Amsterdam (Netherlands) Elsa Stansfield (Glasgow, Scotland, 1945; died in Amsterdam, The Netherlands in 2004) and Madelon Hooykaas (Maartensdijk, The Netherlands, 1942) have been collaborating since 1972. They belong to the first generation of video artists and are considered European pioneers in this media. Their works have been exhibited in various museums, galleries and public spaces for more than thirty years. In 2010, a substantial retrospective was shown both in The...
Martin Tétreault

Martin Tétreault

Martin Tétreault  Montréal, Canada   Turntablist, improviser, sound designer and visual artist Martin Tétreault creates sound performances with turntables that he has made or adapted. He has participated in various festivals and acoustic and media art manifestations in Québec and abroad, as well as in numerous music, dance, poetry, installation and performance projects. He has recorded discs alone and with others. Since 2005, he has directed The Turntable Quartet, giving rise...
Karel Zeman

Karel Zeman

Karel Zeman Ostomer (Austro-Hungarian Empire), Prague (Czechoslovakia) Czech filmmaker, screenwriter and artistic director Karel Zeman was born in the Austro-Hungarian city of Ostomer in 1910 and died in Prague in 1989. Known as the Czech Georges Méliès, he developed original animation techniques over the course of his career, combining puppets and drawings in the same film or using blown glass figures in animations. He is also famous for staging actors against...

Lieu central
Brion Gysin et Ian Sommerville

Brion Gysin et Ian Sommerville

Brion Gysin et Ian Sommerville Grande-Bretagne / Canada Grande-Bretagne Brion Gysin était peintre, écrivain et artiste de la performance et de la poésie sonore; il est un des artistes les plus importants du XXe siècle. Né en Angleterre en 1916, il a grandi à Edmonton (Canada). Il est, entre autres, connu pour sa « découverte » ou « redécouverte » de la technique du couper-coller, élaborée par son ami l’écrivain...
Yann Farley

Yann Farley

Yann Farley  Sainte-Justine, Canada Depuis plus de quinze ans, l’artiste multidisciplinaire Yann Farley fait sa marque dans le domaine des arts visuels. Il a réalisé une trentaine d’expositions solos et collectives au Québec, entre autres au Musée d’art contemporain des Laurentides, à la Maison de la culture Pointe-aux-Trembles, à la Galerie Horace (Sherbrooke), au Musée Marius-Barbeau (Saint-Joseph-de-Beauce), au Centre national d’exposition de Jonquière,  à l’Atelier Silex (Trois-Rivières), au Centre d’art Moulin...
Mounir Fatmi

Mounir Fatmi

Mounir Fatmi Tanger, Maroc / Paris, France Né à Tanger, Mounir Fatmi vit et travaille entre Paris et Tanger. Ses œuvres ont été montrées dans divers musées : Migros Museum für Gegenarskunst (Zürich), Museum Kunst Palast (Düsseldorf), Centre Georges Pompidou (Paris), Moderna Museet (Stockholm), Mori Art Museum (Tokyo) et Tate Modern (Londres). Il a participé à plusieurs biennales : Venise en 2011 et 2007, Lyon en 2009, Sharjah en 2007, Séville et...
Arthur Ganson

Arthur Ganson

Arthur Ganson Stoneham, États-Unis Arthur Ganson amorce son travail en sculpture cinétique en 1977. Depuis la fin de son baccalauréat à l’Université du New Hampshire en 1978, il a présenté ses œuvres aux États-Unis et en Europe dans de nombreux musées et galeries. Il a été invité en résidence par nombre d’institutions, parmi lesquelles l’Exploratorium à San Francisco et le Massachusetts Institute of Technology à Cambridge, où l’on peut voir une...
Rube Goldberg

Rube Goldberg

Rube Goldberg  San Francisco/New York, États-UnisNé à San Francisco en 1883, Reuben Lucius Goldberg (dit « Rube » Goldberg) est décédé à New York en 1970. Membre fondateur de la National Cartoonist Society, dessinateur politique et lauréat d’un prix Pulitzer, Rube Goldberg est principalement connu pour ses inventions. Sa formation d’ingénieur transparaît dans son œuvre. Les machines de Rube Goldberg, mécanismes élaborés de bras, de roues, d’engrenages, de poignées et de tiges,...
Louise Faure et Anne Julien

Louise Faure et Anne Julien

Louise Faure et Anne Julien Paris, France Après une formation en littérature, en philosophie et en études cinématographiques, Louise Faure commence à écrire des documentaires en 1990. Anne Julien a reçu une formation en commerce, puis en histoire avant de bifurquer vers le cinéma. Toutes deux travaillent ensemble régulièrement. Elles ont réalisé Jardiniers de l’espace (2001), Les vins de pierre (2002), Le Monstre dans la forêt (2004) et Niki de Saint...
Joseph Herscher

Joseph Herscher

Joseph Herscher  Brooklynn, États-Unis Joseph Herscher crée des installations cinétiques. Ses vidéos ont été largement diffusées dans le monde et ont été présentées dans The New Yorker, le New York Times et lors de nombreuses émissions de télévision. Son travail a été exposé à la Biennale de Venise en 2011. Il a dirigé plusieurs ateliers à Brooklyn, à Boston, à Venise et en Nouvelle-Zélande et a donné quelques conférences. Le travail...
Marla Hlady

Marla Hlady

Marla Hlady Toronto, Canada Marla Hlady expose régulièrement depuis le début des années 1990 au Canada et à l’étranger (États-Unis et principalement en Europe). Elle est reconnue pour sa pratique multidisciplinaire incluant l’art sonore, l’art cinétique, le dessin et la vidéo. L’artiste collabore également avec des musiciens, compositeurs et autres artistes pour la réalisation d’œuvres sonores, de multiples et de publications. Une importante sélection d’œuvres in situ a été présentée conjointement...
Manon Labrecque

Manon Labrecque

Manon Labrecque  Montréal, Canada Manon Labrecque vit et travaille à Montréal. Elle possède une formation en danse contemporaine et en arts visuels. Artiste multidisciplinaire, elle réalise des vidéos (monobandes et installations), des performances, des dessins, des photographies, des sculptures et installations cinétiques et sonores. Elle a exposé au Québec, en Allemagne, au Mexique et en Angleterre. Présentées dans différents festivals au Canada et à l’étranger, ses vidéos ont été primées, entre...
Diane Obomsawin

Diane Obomsawin

Diane Obomsawin Montréal, Canada  D’origine abénaquise, Diane Obomsawin a vécu en France pendant 20 ans et y a entrepris une carrière de graphiste. De retour au Québec en 1983, elle s’oriente vers la peinture, l’illustration et la bande dessinée, et étudie le cinéma d’animation à l’Université Concordia. Elle a réalisé plusieurs films dont certains ont été primés, notamment Ici par ici, récit autobiographique sur son enfance dispersée. Depuis 1997, elle...
Stansfield/Hooykaas

Stansfield/Hooykaas

Stansfield/Hooykaas Amsterdam (Pays-Bas)  Elsa Stansfield (née à Glasgow, en Écosse, en 1945 et décédée à Amsterdam, aux Pays-Bas, en 2004) et Madelon Hooykaas (née à Maartensdijk, aux Pays-Bas, en 1942) ont travaillé ensemble à partir de 1972. Elles sont issues de la première génération d’artistes de la vidéo et sont considérées comme des pionnières dans leur domaine. Leurs œuvres sont présentées dans différents musées, galeries et espaces publics depuis plus...
Martin Tétreault

Martin Tétreault

Martin Tétreault  Montréal, CanadaPlatiniste, improvisateur, concepteur sonore, plasticien, Martin Tétreault réalise des performances sonores avec des tourne-disques fabriqués ou adaptés par ses soins. Il a participé à divers festivals et manifestations d’art sonore et d’arts médiatiques tant au Québec qu’à l’étranger. Il est associé à plusieurs projets en musique, danse, poésie, installation et performance. Il a publié des disques en solo et avec de nombreux artistes. Depuis 2005, il dirige...
Karel Zeman

Karel Zeman

Karel Zeman Ostromer (Autriche/Hongrie), Prague (République tchèque) Réalisateur, scénariste et directeur artistique tchécoslovaque, Karel Zeman est né à Ostromer (Autriche-Hongrie) en 1910 et est décédé à Prague en 1989. Surnommé le Georges Méliès tchèque, Karel Zeman a développé des techniques d’animation originales au cours de sa carrière. Il n’hésite pas à mêler marionnettes et dessins dans un même film ou à utiliser des figurines en verre soufflé dans ses films d’animation. Il...