Following two busy weeks, the Manif d’art 6 calendar has many more surprises in store for the public. In addition to the main exhibition at the Espace 400e Bell and the 14 exhibitions by collaborators, the program proposes master classes and various satellite activities.


Triple launch


Among the events to look out for this week, a triple launch will take place on Friday, May 18, from 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm at the Espace 400e Bell. Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec will present, for the very first time, the TOI/YOU, la Rencontre (the meeting) catalogue, wherein all the activities presented in 2008 during Manif d’art 4 curated by Lysanne Nadeau have been recorded. The magazine esse arts + opinions will join the event for the launch of its 75th issue | Objets animés (animate objects). In order to better define the stakes with regard to our relationship to things (choses), this issue will take a careful look at contemporary artistic practices which put to the test our common conception of “the object”. Lastly, it will be the opportunity to attend the release of the book Mues et Entrelacs, a monograph edited by the SAGAMIE Centre which proposes a retrospective and prospective look at the last 10 years of production by the artist Giorgia Volpe.

 

Ongoing exhibitions


Furthermore, Giorgia Volpe is presenting a large scale project within the setting of Manif d’art 6, stemming from a partnership between the Vincent et moi (Vincent and me) program and the Ferme du Vinatier.  MOUVOIR/S’ÉMOUVOIR : Projet Rose des vents (TO MOVE/MOVING : the Compass Project) proposes an intervention on location at the Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec (Quebec City University Mental Health Institute). A participative work which questions the relationship between the human being and the care institute, held between May 11 and June 3. In addition, let us point out the very first participation of the Musée huron-wendat of Wendake, which will present Passage, two animated films by Diane Obomsawin, an animation filmmaker and comic book writer. The Institut Canadien de Québec will propose Transfert/Trans-FAIRE, an exhibition to be spread out among 4 Quebec City libraries, under the curatorship of Anne-Sophie Blanchet starting May 8. Four guests artists, Fannie Giguère, Giorgia Volpe, Charles-F. Ouellet and Pierre & Marie propose highly personal works that develop and are transformed through exchanges with the public.

 

Only a few days remain to view Bestiaire (Bestiary), the superb exhibition by Ingrid Bachmann at MATERIA, which closes on Sunday, May 20. Until June 17, the Maison Hamel-Bruneau presents À vos presses!, an exhibition of prints, mounted by Engramme and gathering the work of 12 artists who shine in Québec and abroad. From May 14 to July 8, le Palais Montcalm presents in the Galerie Banque Nationale small format drawings, silkscreens and digital prints created in recent years by Tania Girard-Savoie and shown in public for the first time. The location is accessible only during events held at the Palais Montcalm. Until June 15, the Galerie Tzara will present an installation which documents the project by the MetM duo : La machine est conçue pour dépasser la nature… l’art aussi. (Machines are designed to surpass nature… and so is art). 

Also, take note of a few exhibitions being held between May 3 and June 3 in various locations in Quebec City. Imachination, by John Blouin consists of an installation with three 16mm projectors whereby long film sequences will be deployed above the crowd in the area at Le Cercle. Mon voisin Steeve (My neighbour Steve) presented at the Morgan Bridge Gallery by Pierre-Yves Lavoie, is an interactive mechanism inspired by model miniatures, which questions the relationship maintained by Man between work and play. For its third edition, the collective Non-maison is lining up with the theme of the Manif d’art 6 by presenting L’Engin, an exhibition of in situ projects and an evening of performances in the industrial space that formerly housed the printing presses of the newspaper Le Soleil.

 

Master classes

Throughout the biennial, Première Ovation presents a program of meetings and master classes for Quebec’s emerging artists. Related to the visual arts and media arts, these activities give local artists direct contact with renowned artists from here and abroad, who share their artistic expertise and discuss their creations. On the agenda this week, a meeting with two Quebecois artists whose work is on display at VU PHOTO and at the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (MNBAQ) during the biennial. Manon Labrecque, in collaboration with VU PHOTO, will be at the Espace 400e Bell on May 17 at 5:00 pm. François Mathieu will be in the MNBAQ Auditorium on May 19 at 2:00 pm. Those interested in registering for one or more of these activities may do so at info@premiereovation.com.

 

The complete program of satellite activities can be found on the mobile application available for iPhone and Android.

Source : Patrick Fournier, Communications Coordinator, Manif d’art, 418 524-1917, communication@manifdart.org

Après 2 semaines bien remplies, le calendrier de la Manif d’art 6 réserve encore de nombreuses découvertes au public. En plus de l’exposition centrale à l’Espace 400e Bell et des 14 expositions chez les collaborateurs, la programmation propose des classes de maître et des activités satellites variées.

 

Triple lancement

Parmi les événements à surveiller cette semaine, le vendredi 18 mai de 17 h à 19 h aura lieu un triple lancement à l’Espace 400e Bell. Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec y présentera en primeur le catalogue Toi/You, la rencontre, consignant l’ensemble des activités présentées lors de la Manif d’art 4 en 2008 sous le commissariat de Lysanne Nadeau. La revue esse art + opinions se joint à l’événement pour le lancement de son numéro 75 | Objets animés, qui pose un regard attentif sur des pratiques artistiques contemporaines mettant à l’épreuve nos conceptions communes de l’« objet ». Enfin, ce sera l’occasion d’assister au lancement du livre Mues et Entrelacs, monographie éditée par le Centre SAGAMIE et proposant un parcours rétrospectif et prospectif couvrant les 10 dernières années de production de l’artiste Giorgia Volpe.

 

Expositions en cours

Giorgia Volpe présente par ailleurs un projet d’envergure dans le cadre de la Manif d’art 6, issu d’un partenariat entre le programme Vincent et moi et la Ferme du Vinatier. MOUVOIR/S’ÉMOUVOIR : Projet Rose des vents propose une intervention au sein de l’Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec. Une œuvre participative qui interroge la relation de l’humain à l’institut de soins et qui se tient du 11 mai au 3 juin. Par ailleurs, notons la première participation du Musée huron-wendat de Wendake avec Passage, une exposition qui réunit deux films d’animation de Diane Obomsawin, cinéaste d’animation et bédéiste. L’Institut Canadien de Québec propose pour sa part Transfert/Trans-FAIRE, exposition répartie dans 4 bibliothèques de Québec, sous le commissariat d’Anne-Sophie Blanchet qui débute le 8 mai. Fannie Giguère, Giorgia Volpe, Charles-F. Ouellet et Pierre & Marie y proposent des œuvres évolutives, se transformant au gré des échanges avec le public.

 

Il ne reste que quelques jours pour aller voir Bestiaire, la superbe exposition d’Ingrid Bachmann chez MATERIA, qui prendra fin le dimanche 20 mai. Jusqu’au 17 juin, la Maison Hamel-Bruneau présente À vos presses!, une exposition d’art imprimé, réalisée par Engramme et regroupant les œuvres de 12 artistes rayonnant tant à Québec qu’à l’étranger. Du 14 mai au 8 juillet, le Palais Montcalm présente dans la Galerie Banque Nationale une rétrospective des œuvres de Tania Girard-Savoie en petits formats, créées au cours des dernières années et n’ayant jamais été présentées dans le cadre d’une exposition. Le lieu est accessible uniquement lors de la tenue d’événements au Palais Montcalm. Enfin, jusqu’au 15 juin, la Galerie Tzara présente une installation documentant le projet du duo MetM : La machine est conçue pour dépasser la nature… l’art aussi.

 

Notons également quelques unes des expositions qui se déroulent du 3 mai au 3 juin dans divers lieux de Québec. Imachination de John Blouin consiste en une installation de trois projecteurs 16 mm grâce auxquels de grandes séquences de pellicules se déploieront au dessus des gens dans l’espace du Cercle. Mon voisin Steeve, présentée à la Galerie Morgan Bridge par Pierre-Yves Lavoie, est une mécanique interactive inspirée du modèle réduit, interrogeant le rapport que l’homme entretient entre le travail et le jeu. Pour sa troisième édition, le collectif Non-maison s’aligne avec la thématique de la Manif d’art 6 avec L’Engin, présentant une exposition de projets in situ ainsi qu’une soirée de performances dans l’ancien lieu d’impression du journal Le Soleil.

 

Classes de maître

Première Ovation présente également tout au long de l’événement un programme composé de rencontres et de classes de maître permettant aux créateurs et aux amateurs d’art de la ville de Québec des contacts privilégiés avec des artistes de renom, d’ici et d’ailleurs, qui partagent leur démarche artistique et échangent sur leurs réalisations. Au programme cette semaine, une rencontre avec deux artistes québécois dont le travail est exposé respectivement à VU PHOTO et au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (MNBAQ) pendant la biennale. Manon Labrecque, en collaboration avec VU PHOTO, sera à l’Espace 400e Bell le 17 mai à 17 h. François Mathieu sera à l’Auditorium du MNBAQ le 19 mai à 14 h. Les gens intéressés à s’inscrire à l’une ou l’autre des activités peuvent le faire à info@premiereovation.com.

 

La programmation complète se trouve sur l’application mobile disponible pour iPhone et Android.

Source : Patrick Fournier, Coordonnateur aux communications, Manif d’art, 418 524-1917, communication@manifdart.org