Arthur Ganson
Stoneham, États-Unis

 

Arthur Ganson began making kinetic sculpture in 1977. Since receiving a BFA degree at the University of New Hampshire in 1978 his work has been shown in numerous galleries and museums in both the United States and Europe. He has held residencies at a number of institutions including the Exploratorium in San Francisco and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge, where he has maintained an ongoing exhibition of his sculpture since 1995. His work has been featured in numerous magazines, including Smithsonian Magazine and The New York Times Magazine.

 

Arthur Ganson thinks movement. His works are simultaneously troubling in their simplicity, sophisticated in their movement, fascinating in their symbolism and richly evocative. Renowned for his important contribution to kinetic art, Arthur Ganson is exhibiting The Transmutation of Cloth and Thinking Chair, two sculptures that represent his curiosity in and attraction to movement. Arthur Ganson Presents a Few Machines Created between 1978 and 2004, a DVD documenting 36 of his sculptures, a sort of virtual exhibition of works by this prolific artist will also be shown. 

 

The artist explores movement with an eye on fleeting time. He is interested in the process by which we relate all action to duration, whether through a physical or mechanical phenomenon or a perceptual experience. Each sculpture is therefore part of a time/movement cycle defined by the artist.

 

“I invent machines, but also tools to create machines,” explains Arthur Ganson, revealing to what extent his practice relies on processes. Not many works reveal their engineering with such perspicacity. They move from one space, one place or one state to another, allying spareness and ambiguity, absurdity and awakening. Through repetition, absurdity is transformed into an event and action into a cycle. One word arises from the observation of his sculptures: discovery.

 

The Transmutation of Cloth (1998)

 

 

Thinking Chair (2007)

Arthur Ganson
Stoneham, États-Unis

 

Arthur Ganson amorce son travail en sculpture cinétique en 1977. Depuis la fin de son baccalauréat à l’Université du New Hampshire en 1978, il a présenté ses œuvres aux États-Unis et en Europe dans de nombreux musées et galeries. Il a été invité en résidence par nombre d’institutions, parmi lesquelles l’Exploratorium à San Francisco et le Massachusetts Institute of Technology à Cambridge, où l’on peut voir une exposition permanente de ses sculptures depuis 1995. Son travail a fait l’objet de plusieurs articles de fond dans divers périodiques, notamment le Smithsonian Magazine et The New York Times Magazine.

 

Arthur Ganson pense le mouvement. Ses œuvres sont à la fois troublantes de simplicité, riches d’évocation, fascinantes dans leur portée symbolique, sophistiquées dans l’articulation du mouvement. Reconnu pour son importante contribution à l’art cinétique, Arthur Ganson présente The Transmutation of Cloth et Thinking Chair, deux sculptures représentatives de sa curiosité et de son attirance pour le mouvement. On pourra également voir Arthur Ganson presents a few machines created between 1978 and 2004, un DVD documentant 36 de ses sculptures, sorte d’exposition virtuelle de cet artiste prolifique.

 

L’artiste explore donc le mouvement et la manière dont les choses bougent, tout en prêtant une attention particulière à la fugacité de l’instant présent. Il s’intéresse au processus auquel nous convie toute action liée à la durée, que celle-ci s’associe à un phénomène physique, mécanique, ou à une expérience perceptuelle. Chaque sculpture est alors inscrite dans un cycle — celui d’un temps (durée) et d’un mouvement — défini par l’artiste.

 

« J’invente des machines, mais aussi les outils pour créer ces machines », expliquait Arthur Ganson dans une conférence, révélant à quel point toute sa pratique s’appuie sur des processus. Rarement une œuvre aura fait référence avec autant de perspicacité au déroulement, entendu comme le passage d’un espace, d’un lieu ou d’un état à un autre, reliant dépouillement et ambiguïté, absurdité et éveil de l’esprit. Dans la répétition, l’absurdité se transforme en événement et l’action, en cycle. Un mot surgit à l’observation de ses sculptures : découverte.

 

The Transmutation of Cloth (1998)

 

 

Thinking Chair (2007)