From May 8 to 27, the biennial’s official program includes 5 days of workshops with Minibloc, Kanta Horio and Joseph Herscher. There are still a few spots remaining in the workshops by Joseph Herscher. Register now!


WORKSHOPS LED BY JOSEPH HERSCHER
 (Brooklyn, U.S.)?
Participants are invited to collaborate on a large-scale machine that will take shape and become activated through a succession of chain reactions, mechanical inventions that each person will create in this workshop. Participants are invited to bring a personal object with them, which will be returned at the end of the workshop.

May 26 and 27, 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
?Espace 400e Bell – Free admission – For all ages – Registration required – Places limited
?reservation@manifdart.org

Joseph Herscher creates kinetic installations. His videos have been presented throughout the world and have featured in The New Yorker online, New York Times, as well as numerous television and radio shows. His work was exhibited at the Venice Biennale in 2011. He has conducted workshops in Brooklyn, Boston, Venice and New Zealand, and lectured in New York and elsewhere. The work of Joseph Herscher reminds us of the value of games in an increasingly mechanized world.
http://www.josephherscher.com/


MECHANICAL CREATION WORKSHOP *THE REGISTRATION PERIOD HAS ENDED FOR THIS ACTIVITY*

This workshop is part of the 3 exhibitions organized by guest curator Eric Mattson, well-known for his projects in sound art, music and media art. Led by Minibloc, with the participation of Kanta Horio.

This creation workshop, which is neither a pedagogical lecture nor a technical course, invites participants to create personalized mechanical objects and sound devices. It is led by a pair of artists known for their unique concerts, in which they use the acoustic potential of small objects (various everyday materials, household utensils) whose primary function has been diverted. A special guest, Japanese artist Kanta Horio, will add his expertise to that of the two Montrealers.

On May 10, beginning at 5 p.m. in the hall at the entrance of Espace 400e Bell, the participants will present their creations to the public. This group exhibition will be followed by a concert by Minibloc.

Workshops offered on May 8, 9 and 10, 2012 from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
?Open to a maximum of 10 participants for 3 consecutive days.
 Espace 400e – $25 – Registration necessary.
Presence required for the three days of workshops.
?For adults only.
?reservation@manifdart.org

Objectives:
?- to encourage an exchange of ideas and techniques with regard to the construction of small mechanical sonic devices in a dynamic context;
?- to discover and share various principles of acoustic and electronic amplification;
?- to set up a group acoustic improvisation.

Tools and materials provided:
?- selection of tools (scissors, glue gun, pliers, clamps…);
?- selection of materials (wood, cardboard, springs, cords, pulleys…);
? – microphones (contact and electrostatic);
?- amplification system for sound tests.

Minibloc (Montreal, Canada)
Born of a meeting between an enlightened autodidact, Nicolas Dion, and a “serious” student of classical and electroacoustic composition, Anne-Françoise Jacques, Minibloc creates works that pay no heed to labels. With recorded sounds from diverse sources, often barely recognizable, along with everyday or unusual objects, colourful and noisy elements sampled and often completely distorted, the duo concocts deliciously perverse and incongruous pieces. In turn unbridled electroacoustic collages, minimalist vignettes and acoustic improvisations, their playful compositions—like their performances—are as intriguing as they are unexpected.
?http://www.le-son666.com/minibloc/

Kanta Horio (Tokyo, Japan)
?Kanta Horio is a sound artist and engineer. He studied acoustics and computer-based music at the Kyushu Institute of Design in Fukuoka, Japan. His performances and installations, based on physical phenomena such as sound, light, magnetism and physical movement, employ electromagnets, motors, LEDS, and circuits that convert each of these elements. He has performed widely, both internationally and in Japan. Kanta Horio also works as an acoustic engineer, developing various electronic devices and projects, including commercial interactive installations, films, and musical instruments.
?http://kanta.but.jp/


Information:
Mary-Pierre Belzile?
Liaison Agent?
Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec
?(418) 524-1917
?reservation@manifdart.org

Du 8 au 27 mai, le programme officiel de la biennale offre 5 jours d’atelier avec Minibloc, Kanta Horio et Joseph Herscher. Des places sont encore disponibles pour les ateliers de Joseph Herscher. Inscrivez-vous rapidement!


ATELIERS OFFERTS PAR JOSEPH HERSCHER
 (Brooklyn, États-Unis)
Les participants sont invités à collaborer à une grande machine qui s’élaborera et s’animera à partir d’une succession de réactions en chaîne, inventions mécaniques que chacun créera dans le cadre de cet atelier. Les participants sont invités à apporter un objet personnel qui leur sera rendu après l’atelier.

Les 26 et 27 mai de 13 h à 17 h
Espace 400e Bell – Gratuit – Pour tout âge – Inscription obligatoire – Places limitées
reservation@manifdart.org

Joseph Herscher crée des installations cinétiques. Ses vidéos ont été largement diffusées dans le monde et ont été présentées dans The New Yorker, le New York Times et lors de nombreuses émissions de télévision. Son travail a été exposé à la Biennale de Venise en 2011. Il a dirigé plusieurs ateliers à Brooklyn, à Boston, à Venise et en Nouvelle-Zélande, et a donné quelques conférences. Le travail de Joseph Herscher nous rappelle la valeur du jeu dans un monde de plus en plus mécanique.
http://www.josephherscher.com/

Pour un aperçu du travail de Joseph Herscher, cliquez sur l’image:


ATELIER DE CRÉATION MÉCANO *LA PÉRIODE D’INSCRIPTION EST TERMINÉE POUR CETTE ACTIVITÉ*

Cet atelier s’inscrit dans la série d’événements en trois temps élaborée par le commissaire invité Eric Mattson, reconnu pour ses projets en art audio, en musique et en arts médiatiques. Sous la direction de Minibloc, avec l’aimable participation de Kanta Horio.

Ni conférence didactique, ni cours technique, cet atelier de création invite les participants à produire des objets mécaniques et sonores personnalisés. Il est animé par deux artistes reconnus pour leurs mises en scène singulières lors de concerts où ils utilisent le potentiel sonore de petits objets (matériaux divers, ustensiles du quotidien), détournés de leur fonction première. Invité spécial, l’artiste japonais Kanta Horio ajoute son expertise à celle des deux Montréalais.

Le 10 mai 2012 dès 17 h 00, dans la grande salle, à l’entrée de l’Espace 400e Bell, les participants présenteront leurs créations au public. Cet événement collectif est suivi d’un concert de Minibloc.

Ateliers offerts les 8, 9 et 10 mai 2012 de 10 h 00 à 18 h 00
L’atelier est offert à un maximum de 10 participants pendant 3 jours consécutifs.
Espace 400e – 25 $ – Inscription obligatoire. Présence requise aux trois jours d’atelier
Pour adultes seulement.
reservation@manifdart.org

Objectifs:
- échanger des idées, des techniques quant à la fabrication de petits engins sonores mécaniques dans un contexte dynamique;
- découvrir et partager certains principes d’amplification acoustique et électronique;
- participer à une improvisation sonore collective.

Outils et matériaux fournis
- une sélection d’outils (ciseaux, fusil à colle, pinces, serre-joints…);
- une sélection de matériaux (bois, carton, ressorts, cordes, poulies…);
- des microphones (de contact et à condensateur);
- un système d’amplification pour les tests sonores.

Minibloc (Montréal, Canada)
Fruit de la rencontre entre un autodidacte allumé, Nicolas Dion, et une « studieuse » en musique classique puis en composition électroacoustique, Anne-Françoise Jacques, Minibloc est une formation dont les compositions se jouent des étiquettes.À partir d’enregistrements de sources diverses, mais souvent difficilement reconnaissables, d’objets de la vie courante ou inusités, d’éléments colorés et bruyants, échantillonnés à cru et souvent totalement dénaturés, le duo concocte de délicieux morceaux « pervers » et incongrus. Tour à tour collages électroacoustiques débridés, vignettes minimales ou improvisations sonores, leurs compositions ludiques, tout comme leurs spectacles d’ailleurs, sont aussi intrigants qu’imprévisibles.
http://www.le-son666.com/minibloc/

Kanta Horio (Tokyo, Japon)
Kanta Horio est artiste du son et ingénieur. Il a étudié l’acoustique et la musique assistée par ordinateur à l’Institut de design Kyushu à Fukuoka au Japon. Il conçoit des performances et des installations portant sur des phénomènes physiques comme le son, la lumière, le magnétisme ou le mouvement physique; il utilise des électroaimants, des moteurs, des LEDs (ou DEL, diodes électroluminescentes) et des circuits qui convertissent chacun de ces éléments en un autre. Kanta Horio se produit fréquemment au Japon et sur la scène internationale. Il travaille également comme ingénieur, développant des dispositifs électroniques et divers projets incluant des installations interactives commerciales, des films et des instruments de musique.
http://kanta.but.jp/


Information: Mary-Pierre Belzile

Agente de liaison
Manifestation internationale d’art de Québec
418 524-1917
reservation@manifdart.org